top of page
County Photos_Eoin Browne_reduced_edited.jpg

Fáilte Isteach - Welcome!


Welcome to Newport National School, a co-educational primary school in County Mayo, which follows the national curriculum for children aged four to thirteen in mainstream classes.

Our school was established in 1977 and is dedicated to the Holy Family.  We promote a welcoming and inclusive culture where the value of the uniqueness of each child is appreciated.

The staff - comprising seventeen teachers, nine special needs assistants, a part-time secretary and an administrative principal - work collaboratively to maintain the highest standard of teaching and learning for our pupils.

We offer a state of the art campus which boasts a multi use games area, a large astro turf pitch and a wonderful indoor sports hall, in addition to the most modern teaching facilities, all of which enable us to provide a high quality teaching and learning environment.

We also offer a wide-ranging after-school programme which makes use of our modern facilities.

GP Hall_1.jpg
20180219_141639_resized (Copy).jpg
Astro Turf (Copy).jpg

Our school puts a firm focus on the individual child, offering a warm welcome to all students. We have a committed Special Education Needs team which devises education programmes, tailored to meet differing needs.

We have two Explorers classes for children with autism. Children enrolled in our Explorers’ classes also integrate into mainstream classes as they progress through the school.

We welcome visitors!

Why not contact the school to arrange an appointment to come see us,

tour the school and see for

yourself its many amenities? 

Eóin Browne, Principal

Staff (Copy) 2.jpg

Newport NS Staff 2022


To contact Newport NS...

CALL 098 41442 9:30am-3pm Mon to Fri
(you can also leave a voicemail)
send an EMAIL to
Write to us:  Newport National School
                Newport, County Mayo
                F28 ED89
or use this simple CONTACT FORM...

Thank you, we have received your message and will be in touch shortly


OUR STAFF 2022/23


Deputy Principal

Class Teachers


Resource Teachers













Bus Escorts

Eóin Browne

Berniece Connolly

Berniece Connolly [Junior Infants]

Gráinne Berry [Senior Infants]

Tish Crowley [1st Class]

Kevin Gallagher [2nd Class]

Michelle Finnerty | Mary O'Donnell [3rd Class]

Clary Lee (sub E Grealis) [4th Class]

Emer O'Malley [5th Class]

Claire Forrestal [6th Class]

Máire McLoughlin (sub M Burke) [Junior Explorers]

Sinéad English [Senior Explorers]

Linda Cheatle

Aisling Doherty

Genevieve McGing

Maria Molloy/Cliodhna Healy
Mary Noonan

Davina Carney

Ann Chambers

Liz Hughes

Martin Hughes

Pamela Keenan

Norah Kelly

Eithne King

Pauline Morrin

Laoise Walsh

Fiona Hopkins

Paddy Chambers


Mary Duggan | Monika Kurilla

Judy Fahey | Majella Hughes | Mary Keane |

AnnMarie McManamon| 

bottom of page